top of page

Time for an experiment or two

So after a sleepless night I found myself exploring different experimental techniques to add some fun to my increasingly more common trips out with my camera. That's right I'm starting to feel that tingle again, the tingle to create, to love and to find beauty. 

So during the night I shot an entire roll of film just of selfies, quite hard I might add on my handy little Miranda which has seen better days. 

So is that the experiment, No. 

well it's a experiment for myself I rarely take photos of myself as I have very little self confidence so yes it was an experiment to see if I could actually do it. My anxiety exaggerating thoughts about lab technicians laughing at me. I know crazy right!! 

Well the actual experiment was rewinding the film and then shooting it again. I left the house at dawn and began shooting architecture and trees in the beautiful morning light. 

How I wish I could see the results now but I like to wait. Wait and see the results just adds to the excitement that film photography so readily gives. 

I think this recent surge in venturing out into photography again is aiding my mental health, I feel happier. I still have my days where I don't even want to see the sunlight like most sufferers but the excitement and the joy does help. 

I even looked back at my dissertation I wrote for my degree for the first time, well firstly I noticed so many mistakes. (Maybe because it was done in a 4.5 hour stint on deadline day). 

But I did enjoy reading as it holds a lot of relation to myself. - A look at art and photography's role in self help and therapy. 

I think I'm actually going to expand on it, I seem more capable in myself to do so now after my first attempt was thwarted by no belief. 

If you'd like to read it give me a message I'd happyliy send anyone a link and I'll keep you updated on all my progress and the outcome of my experiments. 

Thanks for reading, hopefully I'm going to be posting more often. 

Matt


bottom of page